Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

List Update: Healthifying and some odds and ends.

This past week I tried to really focus on the “Healthifying” category of my list.The goals I worked on:

Eat as a vegetarian for one week
This wasn’t difficult for me to do, as I thought it was going to be. Unfortunately late Friday afternoon I was completely swamped at work and ate a roast beef sandwich without thinking, so I didn’t make it a whole week. I’m going to try again this week, Sunday through Sunday. I think my favorite part of being veg was breakfast – I made some DELICIOUS smoothies every morning. My favorite combination was 1 banana, 6-8 frozen strawberries, a serving of Dannon Light & Fit blueberry yogurt, a splash of milk and about 1/4 cup of wheat bran for fiber. I found some really delish recipes at SmoothieWeb.com. A typical breakfast before this week was usually some type of bread product – bagel, english muffin, toast, etc. I really liked that drinking a smoothie tasted like a treat but also got me a couple servings of fruit early on in the day. Other favorite foods from this week: a mushroom/pepper/potato stir fry, a mini white pizza made out of a deli flatbread, pesto, spinach and Weight Watchers italian shredded cheese, and long grain & wild rice. When I did eat roast beef on Friday, my stomach actually rebelled a little. I may make a point of eating vegetarian during the week from now on … but we’ll see. Dad did pick up some buffalo meat today.

Complete the 30-Day Shred
I did this 3 days in a row last week but then had to take a few days off since my muscles were so sore. For a half hour workout, I think this is as intense as you can get, and I no longer doubt the “lose 20 lbs in 30 days” claim. I like that Jillian Michaels is tough, because when I’m ready to collapse in a sweaty heap, she reminds me that “you can do this, 400 pound people on The Biggest Loser can do this!”, and “if you’re only going to work out for 30 minutes, I’m going to make sure you WORK OUT.” I’m going to start again this week and hopefully do a straight 30 days.

Take a multivitamin every day for a month
1 week down. ‘Nuff said. I use Wegman’s brand vitamins. They are orange and chewable.

Eat 4-5 pieces of fruit every day for one month
Again, not too much I can say about this one. 1 week down. Getting two fruits in at breakfast is helpful, and I love that Weight Watchers doesn’t count bananas as any points now.

Beyond the Healthifying category, I also made progress on couple other items:

Comment on 5 blogs (2/5)
I guess I technically commented on this blog’s facebook page. It is M2 Photography, who are the husband/wife photography team who will be shooting CB’s wedding in June. They posted this post this week about their twin daughters’ playdate, and I couldn’t help but comment. Their girls are adorable, and I’m so excited for Caitlin to have such great photographers to document her big day.

Watch all three Lord of the Rings movies back to back
This is an annual occurence in my family. My dad, uncle and CB’s dad get together to watch, once a year. Yes, that is a 13 hour day. Yes, it is a nerd fest. But, it’s awesome. This year my sister and her boyfriend joined us and overall a great time was had. Can’t wait for next year!

Use only reusable bags at the grocery store 10 times (1/10)
Not too much to say.  Today I used my two tote bags that I received for supporting WHYY , while picking up ingredients for a delicious quesadilla dinner at Wegmans.

One comment on “List Update: Healthifying and some odds and ends.

  1. Fee
    February 6, 2011

    Hurray! So proud of you for health-ifying. I have the 30 Shred DVD but have never been able to commit to a full month. Maybe it will be in my near future!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2011 by in 101 in 1001, Health and tagged , .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,815 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

