Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

Do You Believe?

This year, I find myself 9 days away from Christmas and still not in the holiday spirit – I haven’t had the time! Whether it’s my workload, family stress, or displacement from my normal Christmas (living at home with the decor and traditions I’ve treasured for 27 years), I haven’t yet felt the normal warmth and excitement I usually feel around this time of year.

“Seems we’re all so busy trying to beat the other fellow in making things go faster and look shinier and cost less that Christmas […is] sort of getting lost in the shuffle,” says Kris Kringle in Miracle on 34th Street.

Another post from Mark Spearman over at The Pioneer Woman, has reminded me to slow down and think about why this is my favorite time of year.

The article is about the Miracle on 34th Street movie, and believing in Santa Claus — but even moreso about the “reason for the season”. It’s a well written article and a good reminder to breathe, slow down and remember what Christmas is all about. The conclusion was the best part for me:

“In this moment, who [Santa Claus] is is irrelevant. It’s more a question of whether we believe what he stands for.

And I think it comes down to how much stock we place in the proposition that the world is largely what we make it, and what we choose to believe or expect of each other.

And we don’t need Santa Claus to tell us that.”

Read the whole article here: http://thepioneerwoman.com/entertainment/2011/12/do-you-believe/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2011 by in Holiday, Life and tagged .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,819 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

