Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

The 6:30 Shut Down

I have heard this idea floating around in a number of different places – the idea of turning off your connection to work and internet communities at the end of the day in order to really be in the moment with your home life – whether that’s with your family, pet, boyfriend, or bed.

In this article on Fast Company, Barbara Corcoran, (author, speaker, investor, Shark on Shark Tank, real estate mogul …. all-around BUSY WOMAN) …
“professes that [work-life balance] is not possible: “I gave up years ago on the concept that you could actually have balance in your life, I think it’s a phantom chase,” she says.

What she does instead is compartmentalize. …She describes how her phone goes on every morning at 6:30, ready for business, but she promptly shuts off the work line every night at 6:30 when she walks upstairs to her home to start her day as mom.”

I really like this idea.

My work, while I love it, has slowly infiltrated my down time in the evenings. While I don’t mind working late when needed, I find myself snuggled up on the couch with the Boyf, compulsively checking my email at 10pm, when I don’t need to be. I also find myself refreshing facebook every 5 minutes on my iPad, to see what other people are up to — when I could be taking a bike ride, walking to get ice cream, or just having a conversation.

Another blog I follow, The Small Things Blog, pointed out the good side of this : “We’re all connected. And it’s good. It’s great actually. What a fantastic world that we live in where we can share moments of our lives with friends, or just other people!”

I agree, of course, or I wouldn’t have umpteen social media accounts and multiple devices on which I can check them – but I need to carve some non-electronically-involved time out of my day.

Kate has instituted a 6:00pm shut down on her work, and I’m going to try to do the same, at least 4 days out of the work week (I find that staying late at least one night a week helps me to refocus and regroup while the office is quiet). I’m going to do as much of my never-ending To Do list as I can in any given day, and then call it a day. I’m doing this to create that dividing line that I find so comforting, between my work life and home life, and to make sure I’m devoting my full attention to one or the other.

Anyone want to join me?Β  Signing off….now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 1, 2012 by in Happiness, Health, Life and tagged .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,815 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

