Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

Wellness Wednesday – Body Weight Workouts

It’s only a few short months until bikini season, and I for one am more determined than ever to be able to confidently rock one of these babies this summer:

bikinis

A growing trend (or maybe I’m just learning about it?) in fitness is working out using only your body – no weights, no machines, no treadmills. While I still like to go to the gym to get in cardio (especially this week, just to keep warm! We had a high temperature of 23 yesterday here in Philly…), I can’t stand doing any kind of weight training at the gym – I feel like someone is always waiting for my machine, or watching me and seeing how much (how little) weight I’m working with. I love these new types of workouts for the fact that I can do them in the privacy of my own home, for free, with no one watching.

Here are some that I’ve tried and love:

TODAY
Pyramid Workout with Natalie Morales of the Today Show and Jenna Wolfe – 100 Jumping Jacks, 90 Butt Kickers, 80 High Knees, 70 Kicks, 60 Mountain Climbers, 50 Toy Soldiers, 40 Shoulder Side-to-Sides, 30 Inner Heels, 20 Basketball Jumps, 10 Kick Drops. These start easier in difficulty but more reps, and work down to the hardest where you only do 10 reps.

20 Best Body Weight Exercises at Livestrong.com

The Daily Hiit is a website with a free daily workout – Hiit stands for High Intensity Interval Training. While they do sometimes use equipment like a sandbag or a dip bar, you can easily use things in your own home like a backpack with stuff in it to make it heavy, or the edge of a couch. Some of the promotional photos they do are provocative – but the female host, Lisa, is so fit and is SO nice and encouraging, it’s easy to be more inspired than turned off by these photos. These workouts are HARD, but they do produce results. I made the mistake of trying to do these workouts too often in the beginning and was so sore I stopped. But I’m working them in gradually between cardio sessions at the gym and can’t wait to see the end result.

What kind of workouts do you like best? Is there a fitness trend that you’ve jumped on the bandwagon for? Is there one you absolutely hate? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2013 by in Health and tagged .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,819 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

