Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

Book Review: Life of Pi

I just finished reading Life of Pi by Yann Martel. Ok, technically I just finished listening. I’ve been using Audible to download and listen to many of the books on my 100 Books list, because it seems the most efficient way for me to get this done in the next 8 months, within my 1001-day deadline. I’ve been making sure to listen to the unabridged versions. It has proved to be an exceptionally enjoyable way to pass the time of my hour-long commute, and on top of getting to read some great books, it’s also nice to hear them read in different voices and accents – for me, it really helps bring the stories alive.

Back to Life of Pi. Why didn’t I jump on this bandwagon a couple years ago, when the book was all anyone talked about? It is seriously one of the best books I’ve read, I think – and I was thinking that even before the last few chapters when it was revealed that there was a great twist to the story.

Life of Pi is the story of a teenage Indian boy and his adventures in survival after a ship, carrying his family and a majority of their zoo animals, wrecks off the coast of Panama. Pi finds himself a castaway in a lifeboat with a hyena, a zebra, an orangutan, and a Bengal tiger by the name of Richard Parker. For 100 chapters (not as daunting as it sounds – some chapters are only a sentence or two) and 227 days, he devises different ways of surviving hunger, thirst, and of course the realities of sharing a tiny lifeboat with a 450 pound tiger.

What you’re left with is a captivating story that I couldn’t stop reading. And I won’t give away the twist at the end, but it made me rethink the previous 99 chapters I had just read. Seriously, it’s been a while since I’ve found not one thing wrong with a book. I’m excited to watch the movie and see what is different, what gives me a different perspective, and if there’s anything I dislike.

Overall grade: A+!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 10, 2013 by in 101 in 1001 and tagged , .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,815 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

