Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

March Birchbox and Ipsy Reviews

You guys. Birchbox and Ipsy knocked it out of the park for me this month. I kept getting more and more excited as I discovered each product! Let’s get right to it:

BIRCHBOX

Birchbox is a monthly beauty sample box that costs $10/month – you get five samples shipped free to your door every month. This is still my favorite subscription box ever! You can sign up here, using my referral link!

March 2013 Birchbox

Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream – I huffed this tube for over 5 minutes. The scent alone (blueberry) is enough for me! And, really, if we’re being honest here, I use my boyfriend’s soap bar 80% of the time in the shower to shave with, so any kind of product is going to be an improvement.

MAKE Face Primer SPF 30 – I’ve been getting a lot of face primers in my deliveries lately. I rarely use foundation, so it’s a little bit of a miss for me here, but for when I do wear it, this will come in handy. It’s a small tube, probably only 1-2 applications. [And a little off topic here, but while we’re talking about the ‘under makeup’ category: in one of my magazines there was a sample for L’oreal Miracle Blur which is an under-makeup primer that promises to fill in fine lines, scars, etc – kind of along the lines of one of my favorite products, Benefit The POREfessional. I gave this a shot the other day, and it really is a Miracle. I only used concealer on top of it and my skin felt and looked amazing!! I highly recommend that product]

MAKE Satin Finish eyeshadow – teensy weensy sample, but it’s in a color that I would use sparingly – a deep plum. No complaints! This is probably in tandem to the new eyeshadow “fad” of a smoky purple eye.

Nick Chavez Beverly Hills Color-Saver Sulfate Free Shampoo – haven’t given this a shot yet, but the description is promising! “Traditional shampoos rely on sulfates to create a thick lather, but the flip side is that they can be incredibly harsh and drying especially on color-treated hair that needs the moisture most. This ultra-gentle shampoo is formulated without sulfates to ensure that it removes buildup without stripping color.”

Madewell for Birchbox Nail Emery Board – lately I’ve been filing my nails a TON, thanks to the Biotin supplement I’ve been taking. My nails are growing much faster, stronger and healthier (although they break a little easier as well, being that they’re  harder now). This photo doesn’t do it justice – the backside of the file is the best part!

file

There was also a little card, marked “hydrating concealer”, with a peel-up tab that made me think there was going to be a little bonus sample in there too – alas, no sample, but there was a teaser to the Benefit Fakeup product which looks intriguing – a concealer wrapped in a hydrating ring, so your zit doesn’t look all crusty after being covered up. Intriguing, but without a sample I’m not going to go drop $24.00 on a concealer stick.

Anyway – with this box, (and reviewing the samples on-site), I’ve amassed $20.00 in Birchbox Points and will be purchasing the Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox BB Beauty Balm ($36.00, but I’ll only actually spend $16.00) – I received this in my February 2013 box, and just really really loved the product.

IPSY

ipsy is the same deal – $10/month for 5 beauty samples (plus they send you a cute cosmetic bag that matches the theme of that month’s delivery) – and it’s curated/owned by makeup artist Michelle Phan. Sign up here!

ipsy - March 2013

The theme of this month’s delivery is “The Great Escape”. Honestly, the themes of these usually go right over my head – but this one is a little better – it’s a travel theme!

LA Fresh makeup remover wipes – I can never get enough of these, I use them every night to make sure my eye makeup is off before washing my face or laying in bed.

Juice Beauty hydrating mist – the premise of this is a good one. It’s a facial mist that is supposed to rejuvenate you throughout the day. For me, I’m not a huge fan of rose scent (it makes me think of Cabbage Patch Dolls), or of spraying things on my face. This is the only thing that was really a “miss” this month for me.

yaby eyeshadow refills – I got two of these little eyeshadows – one in emerald green, and one in a nice taupe/brown color that I will definitely use. The best part about these is that the bases of them are magnetic, which leads me to the other product this month…

Mini Freestyle Palette by GlamRX – this is so cool! It’s just a little compact with a mirror, but the other half of it is a sunken area with a magnetic back, so you can create your own little makeup palette to take with you on the go by popping out eyeshadows, lip glosses, blushes, etc, from other palettes and sticking in here! I go back and forth to Mark’s house a lot, so I’ll be using this to help me save room in my well-travelled Vera Bradly bag!

3 comments on “March Birchbox and Ipsy Reviews

  1. LifeOfKSong
    March 12, 2013

    the Birchbox looks amazing! I wish I could subscribe but unfortunately I can’t! I am excited to check out my Ipsy bag tho when I get home!
    Thanks for sharing.
    http://www.lifeofksong.com

    • thejuliemonster
      March 12, 2013

      Seriously, this was the best haul in a while for both subscriptions! Do you subscribe to anything else besides ipsy?

  2. Must Have Boxes
    March 18, 2013

    We received the same Birchbox samples :). I just posted the review of my March Birchbox on my blog too. It’s the best Birchbox I’ve ever received!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2013 by in Beauty, Birchbox, ipsy and tagged , , .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,818 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

