Julie 101

Julie 101: Blogging, cooking, servicing, healthifying, growing, financializing, organizing, designing, exploring, primping and playing!

June Birchbox

birchbox2

Birchbox went through a rebrand that they announced this month – I really like what they’ve done! In addition, this month’s box, “Wanderlust”, was an overall hit. Here’s what I got

birchbox4birchbox3

The Goods:

  • Birchbox + Color Club – Wanderlust Collection, “USA” nail polish (regular price $8.00) – I have to say that out of the 4 exclusive nail colors Birchbox has been promoting the heck out of this is the one I really didn’t want. Not because I won’t use it, but because I have two or three other bottles of this color from other brands. Also, the description says “exclusive neon pastel shades inspired by four of our favorite cities” – does that look neon to you? I was really hoping for the green (U.K.) or the pink (Spain). At $8.00 a bottle, if the quality is good I might spring for them.
  • Miss Jessie’s Original Jelly Soft Curls (regular price $14.00) – promises to leave curls defined and crunch-free. I’ll probably take this on my next camping trip so I don’t have to deal with a hair dryer.
  • Oscar de la Renta – “Something Blue” perfume sample (regular price $85- $115) not horrible, not great. I’ll use it in a travel bag.
  • SW Basics Peppermint Lip Balm (regular price $15.00) – I was disappointed to see this, because I’m pretty loyal to SoftLips. But WOW!!! This is incredibly moisturizing, doesn’t gum up the way other chap sticks have on me, and has only 4 ingredients (and I know what all of them are!) This is definitely my favorite thing in the box this month!
  • Youngblood Mineral Cosmetics Hi-Definition Hydrating Mineral Perfecting Powder (regular price $36.00) – I have something exactly the same by Elf (which was $3.00), but it does help keep shine levels in check so I like to wear it when I go out. Again, this will be a travel bag item since the Elf one is huge.
  • [Lifestyle Extra] Tweezerman Itty Bitty Nail Files (regular price $5.00) – Am I a loser if this is my second favorite thing in the box? I’m constantly getting snags or little tears in my nails, and since they’re finally growing beautifully (thanks to Biotin!) I want to keep them in top shape, with minimal breakage. There are like 12 files in here, and they slide into the box like a matchbox, for super easy purse-carrying. There was even a little spongy buffer pad in the bottom of it. They’re not the best files ever, but for a quick fix when I’m out of the house, these will be great!

Overall box value this month: $163 (!!!) – a subscription is just $10.00, you guys. This is my favorite subscription ever – if you’d like to sign up for a subscription, please use my referral link! http://birch.ly/12h4V2I

6 comments on “June Birchbox

  1. pearlsandparis
    June 11, 2013

    This box is pretty good! I finally canceled my subscription after almost a year because they were just not impressing me…. perfume samples are FREE yet they include them in every box!!! lol that was the worst part for me – hopefully the boxes continue to get better πŸ™‚

    • thejuliemonster
      June 11, 2013

      I know, the perfume samples and food really get to me — but with this new rebrand, they also have a new profile for you where you can customize even more. One of the new questions in there is “For me, fragrance samples are…” and you can choose “Awesome – you can never have too much of a good thing”, or “Not my favorite – please send me no more than 6 perfume samples per year”. So we’ll see if that selection really takes place in my boxes!

      They also added “I’d love to see these type of extras in my box”, and “I can never have too many of this type of product”. I feel reassured that they’re looking out for their subscribers and taking all the internet feedback to heart πŸ™‚

  2. pearlsandparis
    June 11, 2013

    omg! that is SO good to know!

  3. thetravelinglemon
    June 11, 2013

    I loved the lip balm! I got Sweet Orange Vanilla last month, and now it’s my go-to. And I agree with you about the nail polish. It’s not neon, but normally Color Club is pretty good quality. And I’m actually intrigued about the smell of the perfume.

    • thejuliemonster
      June 11, 2013

      I actually used my Birchbox reward points this morning to order the rest of them – you get the set of 4 for $8.00, couldn’t pass it up!

  4. Must Have Boxes
    June 17, 2013

    Those Tweezerman nail files are the BEST. I have a large size Tweezerman file and I can’t live without it. I just posted the review of my June Birchbox on my blog too. Love it!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in Beauty, Birchbox and tagged , .

Julie101: Stats

  • 7,818 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 448 other followers

